DIY: Heart Wall Art

So I want to make my dorm room really nice next year because hopefully I will be getting a single! I found a picture on tumblr that I will attempt to duplicate below.

This is the picture from tumblr:

Now I will try to recreate this project. I’m a little short on some the supplies, like paint to make the cool splatters and also thread to sew the hearts onto the cardboard. If you want to do this project like Claire Isabel Marie, you will need a sewing machine, thread, orange and blue paint, and a paint brush on top of the materials I have listed below. I did not have a sewing machine or paint around so, I used a hot glue gun instead. So if you want to do this project like I did, you will need:

  • A hot glue gun
  • Assortment of paper (I used graph paper, a map book, an old New Yorker, and an old Alloy magazine)
  • A pencil
  • A ruler
  • Scissors
  • Cardboard, poster board, or bambridge board (mine measures 13.5″ by 18″)
To start, draw a rectangle somewhere on the board. In the picture above, you can see where the rectangle is slighty, that’s the idea. You can put it anywhere you want!
If you are doing the paint part of the project, splatter the paint on now with the paint brush, making sure you do this on a flat surface so the paint doesn’t dry. Don’t use watercolor paint, make sure you use acrylic paint. Allow this to dry.
While waiting for the paint to dry, cut hearts from the assorted paper in various sizes. I recommend cutting about 50 hearts, you use more than you think you will.
After you have finished cutting the hearts, proceed to glue them on, stretching up diagonally towards the top of the board. They do not have to be in a perfect line, but instead will look much better if placed slightly askew at times. Having them go in all the same direction sort of defeats the purpose. And do not glue the entire heart down, glue only along the seam of the heart, allowing the edges to come up.
After you have glued on all the hearts you are done! Here is my rendition of the project:
This is a really simple project, that adds a lot of character to a space!
Tomorrow will be something new,
The Average Girl
One thought on “DIY: Heart Wall Art

Leave a Reply

