How to Determine Your Shade of Bare Escentuals Foundation

I decided to blog about something I actually have expertise in. I worked at QVC (kind of like the home shopping network) as a phone operator and I was also a beauty advisor. Bare Escentuals is one of QVC’s best selling products, and I also love it! So below I will tell you the best way to tell what your shade is in the foundation!

First determine if you have warm undertones, neutral undertones, or cool undertones.

If you have cool undertones, you will look good in cool colors (blues, greens, and purples) and pure white over off-white and silver is your metal of choice. If you have warm undertones, you will look good in warm colors (reds, oranges, and yellows) and off-white over pure white and gold is your metal of choice. If you have neutral undertones you will look good in either warm or blue colors along with both shades of white and both metals.

Now, you will determine if you are fair to light, light to medium, medium to tan, tan to dark, or dark to deep.

If you are fair:

***Cool Undertone: FAIR, this is for fair porcelain skin with pink undertones

***Neutral Undertone: FAIRLY LIGHT, for porcelain to light skin with neutral undertones

***Warm Undertone: LIGHT OR GOLDEN FAIR, light is for light skin with yellow-olive undertones and golden fair is for fair porcelain skin with yellow-olive undertones

If you are medium:

***Cool Undertone: FAIRLY MEDIUM OR MEDIUM, fairly medium is for light to medium skin with pink undertones and medium is for medium skin with pink undertones

***Neutral Undertone: MEDIUM BEIGE, for medium skin with neutral undertones

***Warm Undertone: GOLDEN MEDIUM, for medium with yellow-olive tones

If you are tan:

***Cool Undertone: MEDIUM TAN, for medium to tan skin with rosy undertones

***Neutral Undertone: TAN, for tan skin with neutral undertones

***Warm Undertone: GOLDEN TAN OR WARM TAN, golden tan is for medium to tan skin with subtle yellow-olive undertones and warm tan is for tan skin with deep yellow-olive undertones

If you are dark:

***Cool Undertone: DARK, for tan to dark skin with rich red undertones

***Neutral Undertone: MEDIUM DARK, for dark skin with neutral undertones

***Warm Undertone: GOLDEN DARK OR WARM DARK, golden dark is for dark skin with yellow-olive undertones and warm dark is for dark skin with deep yellow-olive undertones

If you are deep:

***Cool Undertone: MEDIUM DEEP, for dark to deep skin with rich red undertones

***Neutral Undertone: DEEPEST DEEP, for the deepest skin with neutral undertones

***Warm Undertone: GOLDEN DEEP OR WARM DEEP, golden deep is for subtle yellow-olive undertones and warm deep is for deepest skin with intense yellow-olive undertones

If you are looking to purchase Bare Escentuals check out a store near you or http://www.bareescentuals.com for your foundation or starter kit!

Tomorrow will be something new

The Average Girl

6 thoughts on “How to Determine Your Shade of Bare Escentuals Foundation

  1. organic spray tan equipment says:

    I am really loving the theme/design of your web site.
    Do you ever run into any internet browser compatibility problems?

    A couple of my blog audience have complained about my blog not working correctly
    in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any tips to help fix this issue?

  2. lipstickandkittens says:

    Quick question: I have really pale skin, but I want a yellow toned mineral foundation to conceal redness. I have heard from some people that the Golden Fair shade is actually too dark for fair skin though. In your experience, does that seem to be the case?

    • The Average Girl says:

      Sorry for the late response! It really depends on your undertone with such fair skin. For example, if you have blue undertones the golden fair will clash and you will come up looking very yellow. Even with redness, fair should work to conceal that (if you have blue undertones). However, if you have neutral skin you could either go with fairly light (neutral) or golden fair (warm) to combat the redness.
      In my experience, I’ve noticed that the shade that does the best to conceal is the shade that best matches your skin tone. I still use this foundation to this day and while I don’t have an issue with redness, my friend who I introduced this to has pale skin and and issue with redness and she uses fair and it works for her.
      If you still are unsure, head into a store if you have one near you and have them match your shade (sometimes they can be off though so I recommend finding the girl in the store with the least amount of makeup caked on lol!)
      Hope this helps! Again sorry for the late response, please feel free to message back with any further questions

      • Phaedra says:

        Oh thank you! I appreciate the very detailed response! I tried samples of Fair, Golden Fair, and Fairly Light. Fair was too dark and pink, and Fairly Light was just too dark, although its undertone seemed the most like my skin. I ended up getting Golden Fair, and it does leave my skin looking sort of yellow, but it’s the only one pale enough! I wish Bare Minerals had an even paler shade available.

      • The Average Girl says:

        What a shame! Another recommendation that may sound crazy is to buy a pale shade of the eyeshadow and mix it in with your foundation. All the powders are made of the same material so it won’t effect your skin negatively. I would try a small sample. Or use the mineral veil on top of your foundation to try and combat the yellow-ness. The mineral veil is translucent but I’ve noticed it adding a little paleness to my face. I use it over my foundation in the winter when I’m extra pale so my face matches my body color.

      • Phaedra says:

        I may have to try those suggestions. I was thinking about getting the mineral veil anyway as a setting powder, but if it adds some paleness then even better! I wouldn’t have thought to mix in some eyeshadow, but as you said, it does have the same ingredients so that might work too. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

